ABC Board Succession Planning

11 August 2019

Independent Board Members	Appointed	Term (3 years)	Term Ends	Notes Provision for up to 12 Independent Board Members including Chair Code of Governance requires Board Members to serve no more than 3 terms of 3 years (or 4 x 2 years or 2 x 4 years) i.e. maximum 9 years	Appraisal / Review	Actions Independent Board Members -Review requirements each year. Further recruitment possibly required Spring / Summer 2021 Chair -Plan to recruit successor by open process Autumn 2019
Deborah Williams	April 2016 for "3-year term", extended for one year Chair	2 (second term provides for one-year extension)	31 March 2020	Extension ratified by Board March 2019	August 2019	
Amanda Tomlinson	Co-opted August 2016, full appointment Feb 2017 Vice Chair / Senior Independent Director from October 2017	2 First term August 2016 to 31 March 2019 Second term April 2019 to March 2022	31 March 2022	Second term ratified by Board March 2019	August 2019 Next due August 2020	
Richard Callicott	First term April 2014 Second term Jan 2016 Third term April 2019	3	31 March 2022	Third (final) term ratified by Board March 2019	In process for completion August 2019	

Arwyn Jones	First term October 2015 Second term April 2019	2	31 March 2022	Second term ratified by Board March 2019	In process for completion August 2019
Kim Babb	July 2018	1	July 2021	Ratified by Board July 2018	July 2019 – form outstanding
Rachel Conlisk	July 2018 Co-opted for 1 year Appointed for full 3-year term July 2019	1 + 1	July 2019	Full term ratified by Board July 2019	June 2019 Next due August 2020
Anam Choudhury	September 2018	1	September 2021	Ratified by Board September 2018	June 2019 – form outstanding
Richard Medcalf	September 2018	1	September 2021	Ratified by Board September 2018	June 2019 Next due August 2020
Ash Rai	September 2018	1	September 2021	Ratified by Board September 2018	June 2019 Next due August 2020
Guy Shears	May 2019	1	May 2019	Ratified by Board May 2019	Due August 2020

Board Members nominated by ABCA				As determined by Association of Black Country Local Authorities (ABCA)		
Councillor Nicolas Barlow (Cabinet Member for Health and Wellbeing, Dudley) Reserve: Councillor Farut Shaeen (Sandwell) ABCA Leaders'	26 June 2019	N/A	N/A		N/A	
Nominees						
Lisa McNally Director for Public Health, Sandwell ABCA Chief Executives' Nominee	26 June 2019	N/A	N/A		N/A	
Advisory Members						<i>Keep skills requirements under review - plan for Q4 2019</i>
Chris Jones Project Director, Commonwealth Games 2022 Aquatics Centre	July 2018	N/A	N/A	Ratified by Board July 2018		

Jennie Bimson Gold Ambassadors (Media, Brands etc.)	September 2018	N/A	N/A	Ratified by Board September 2018	Voluntarily completed August 2019	
Paul Griffiths Aspire (Physical activity for CYP, Primary School Premium etc.)	September 2018	N/A	N/A	Ratified by Board September 2018		
Graham Macpherson Sport England	N/A	N/A	N/A			